UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Algeria / Algérie / Argélia  - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
1980 Al Qal'a of Beni Hammad Tombeau de la Chrétienne - Tipasa wilaya, Algeria / Algérie: Great royal mausoleum of Mauritania - located in the Mitidja plain, near Sidi Rached village | Mausolée Royal de Maurétanie - située dans la plaine de la Mitidja, près du village de Sidi Rached - photo by M.Torres 1982 Tipasa
1982 Tassili n'Ajjer / Tassili Plateau Algeria / Algerie - Timgad / Thamugas: Roman ruins - Arch of Trajan - west end of the decumanus - photo by J.Kaman 1982 Timgad
Algeria / Algerie - M'zab - Ghardaïa wilaya: Ghardaia - aqueduct - photo by J.Kaman 1982 M'Zab Valley Algiers / Alger - Algeria: picturesque alley and balcony supported by wooden brackets - Kasbah of Algiers - UNESCO World Heritage Site | impasse pittoresque et oriel sur corbeaux de bois - Casbah d'Alger - Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO - photo by M.Torres 1992 Kasbah of Algiers
1982 Djémila

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country - UNESCO word heritage sites in Albania
next country - UNESCO word heritage sites in Andorra
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes, Islam
images of: Algeria, Morocco, Malta, Tunisia, Mali, Egypt, France, Spain, Balearics, Catalonia, Berber countries, Africa
Unesco sites in: Morocco, Malta, Tunisia, Mali, Egypt, France, Spain, Africa
Algeria - UNESCO - World Heritage