UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Argentina / Argentine / Argentinien - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
Argentina - Los Glaciares National Park / Parque Nacional los Glaciares (Santa Cruz): Perito Moreno glacier - Unesco world heritage site (photo by N.Cabana) 1981 Los Glaciares National Park
Argentina - Iguazu Falls (Misiones province): might - Unesco world heritage site (photo by N.Cabana) 1984 Iguazu National Park
1999 Cueva de las Manos, Río Pinturas
Argentina - Puerto Madryn - Patagonia Argentina - Valdez Peninsula: cat and the South Atlantic - gato (photo by N.Cabana) 1999 Península Valdés
Argentina - Córdoba: Colegio Nacional de Monserrat - the Manzana Jesuitica - the Jesuit Block - Unesco world heritage site (photo by B.Cloutier) 2000 Jesuit Block and Estancias of Córdoba
2000 Ischigualasto/ Talampaya Natural Parks
2003 Quebrada de Humahuaca
Jointly with Brazil:
1984 Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis:
San Ignacio Mini, Santa Ana, Nuestra Señora de Loreto and Santa Maria Mayor (Argentina), Ruins of Sao Miguel das Missoes (Brazil)

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country - UNESCO word heritage sites in Andorra
next country - UNESCO word heritage sites in Armenia
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes
images of: Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Chile, Venezuela, Spain, Portugal, Malvinas / Falkland, Americas
Unesco sites in: Uruguay, Brazil, Chile, Venezuela, Spain, Portugal, Americas
Argentina - UNESCO - World Heritage