UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Guatemala - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
Guatemala - Tikal National Park: Mayan temple pyramids - Unesco world heritage site (photographer: G.Frysinger) 1979 Tikal National Park
Guatemala - Antigua Guatemala: La Merced church / Iglesia La Merced, Antigua Guatemala - Unesco world heritage site (photographer: Hector Roldán) 1979 Antigua Guatemala
1981 Archaeological Park and Ruins of Quirigua

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country - UNESCO world heritage sites in Greece
next country - UNESCO world heritage sites in Guinea
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes
images of: Guatemala, Cuba, Mexico, Belize, Jamaica, Spain, Latin countries, Caribbean & Central America, Americas
Unesco sites in: Cuba, Mexico, Belize, Spain,Americas
Guatemala - UNESCO - World Heritage