UNESCO - The World Heritage List
United States of America / Estados Unidos / Etats Unis / EE.UU / EUA / USA- flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in the
United States

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:

  • 1978 Mesa Verde
  • 1978 Yellowstone
  • 1979 Grand Canyon National Park
  • 1979 Everglades National Park
  • 1979 Independence Hall
  • 1980 Redwood National Park
  • 1981 Mammoth Cave National Park
  • 1981 Olympic National Park
  • 1982 Cahokia Mounds State Historic Site
  • 1983 Great Smoky Mountains National Park
  • 1983 La Fortaleza and San Juan Historic Site in Puerto Rico
  • 1984 Statue of Liberty
  • 1984 Yosemite National Park
  • 1987 Monticello and University of Virginia in Charlottesville
  • 1987 Chaco Culture National Historic Park
  • 1987 Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
  • 1992 Pueblo de Taos
  • 1995 Carlsbad Caverns National Park
  • 2007 Everglades National Park - Florida
Jointly with Canada:
  • 1979 Kluane/Wrangell-St. Elias/Glacier Bay/Tatshenshini-Alsek
  • 1995 Waterton Glacier International Peace Park
The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org
whl, patrimonio da humanidade
previous country
next country

see also: images, UNESCO list, Unesco Mexico, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes
images of: Canada, USA, Mexico, Russia, England, France, Alaska, Portugal, Americas
Unesco sites in: Mexico, Canada, Russia, France, Portugal, Americas
USA - UNESCO - World Heritage