UNESCO - The World Heritage List
New Zealand / Aotearoa / Nova Zelāndia - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in
New Zealand

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
New Zealand - North island - Tongariro: the Chateau - Unesco world heritage (photographer: Peter Willis) 1990 Tongariro National Park
New Zealand - New Zealand - South island: Mount Cook - Mount Cook region is sometimes called the Mackenzie Country - Unesco world heritage  (photographer: Rob Neil) 1990 Te Wahipounamu - South West New Zealand*
1998 New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands
(the Snares, Bounty Islands, Antipodes Islands, Auckland Islands and Campbell Island)
* Westland/Mount Cook National Park and Fiordland National Park, previously inscribed on the World Heritage List, are part of this site.

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country
next country
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes
New Zealand (Aotearoa) - UNESCO - World Heritage