UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Spain / Espaņa / Espanha / Espagne / Spanien - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in
The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
  • 1984 Historic Centre of Cordoba
  • 1984 Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzin, Granada
  • 1984 Burgos Cathedral
  • 1984 Monastery and Site of the Escurial, Madrid
  • 1984 Parque Güell, Palacio Güell and Casa Mila in Barcelona
  • 1985 / 2008 Palaeolithic Cave Art of Northern Spain (extension to Altamira Cave) 
  • 1985 Old Town of Segovia and its Aqueduct
  • 1985 Monuments of Oviedo and the Kingdom of the Asturias
  • 1985 Santiago de Compostela (Old Town)
  • 1985 Old Town of Avila, with its Extra-Muros churches
  • 1986, 2001 Mudejar Architecture of Aragon
  • 1986 Historic City of Toledo
  • 1986 Garajonay National Park
  • 1986 Old Town of Caceres
  • 1987 Cathedral, Alcazar and Archivo de Indias in Seville
  • 1988 Old City of Salamanca
  • 1991 Poblet Monastery
  • 1993 Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida
  • 1993 Royal Monastery of Santa Maria de Guadalupe
  • 1993 Route of Santiago de Compostela
  • 1994 Doñana National Park
  • 1996 Historic Walled Town of Cuenca
  • 1996 La Lonja de la Seda de Valencia
  • 1997 Las Médulas
  • 1997 The Palau de la Música Catalana and the Hospital de Sant Pau, Barcelona
  • 1997 San Millán Yuso and Suso Monasteries
  • 1998 University and Historic Precinct of Alcalá de Henares
  • 1998 Rock-Art of the Mediterranean Basin on the Iberian Peninsula
  • 1999 Ibiza, Biodiversity and Culture
  • 1999 San Cristóbal de La Laguna
  • 2000 Archaeological Ensemble of Tárraco
  • 2000 Palmeral of Elche
  • 2000 Roman Walls of Lugo
  • 2000 Catalan Romanesque Churches of the Vall de Boí
  • 2000 Archaeological Site of Atapuerca
  • 2001 Aranjuez Cultural Landscape
  • 2003 Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza
  • 2006 Vizcaya Bridge - Portugalete, Euskadi
  • 2007 Teide National Park - Tenerife - Canary islands
Jointly with France:
  • 1997 Pyrénées - Mont Perdu

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org
whl, patrimonio da humanidade
previous country
next country
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes
Spain - UNESCO - World Heritage / España - Patrimonio de la Humanidad