UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Austria / Österreich / Autriche - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
Salzburg / SZG : the Salzach, the city and the Hohensalzenburg fortress on the Mönchsberg mountain - Unesco world heritage site (photo by Miguel Torres) 1996 Historic Centre of the City of Salzburg
Austria / Österreich -  Vienna: Schönbrunn - Maria Teresa's yellow Palace  (architect: Nikolaus Pacassi) - Unesco world heritage site (photo by M.Torres) 1996 Palace and Gardens of Schönbrunn
1997 Hallstatt-Dachstein Salzkammergut Cultural Landscape
1998 Semmering Railway
Graz (Steiermark): time for ice-cream - City of Graz - Historic Centre - Unesco world heritage site (photo by F.Rigaud) 1999 City of Graz – Historic Centre
2000 Wachau Cultural Landscape
Austria / Österreich -  Vienna: Church of St. Charles - nocturnal - Vienna city centre - Unesco world heritage site (photo by M.Torres) 2001 Historic Centre of Vienna
Jointly with Hungary:
2001 Cultural Landscape of Fertö/Neusiedlersee

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country - UNESCO word heritage sites in Australia
next country - UNESCO word heritage sites in Azerbaijan
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes, Islam
images of: Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Slovenia, Slovakia, Europe
Unesco sites in: Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Hungary, Slovenia, Slovakia, Europe
Austria - UNESCO - World Heritage