UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Croatia / Republika Hrvatska / Croácia / Kroatien / Croatie - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
Croatia - Dubrovnik (Dubrovnik-Neretva County / Dubrovacko-Neretvanska Zupanija): old town from the mountain - Unesco world heritage site (photo by M.Torres) 1979 Old City of Dubrovnik
Croatia - Split: Roman architecture - emperor Diocletian's palace - Unesco world heritage site - photo by J.Banks 1979 Historic Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian
Croatia - Plitvice Lakes National Park: waterfall close up - Unesco world heritage site - photo by P.Gustafson 1979, 2000 Plitvice Lakes National Park
1997 Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the Historic Centre of Porec
Croatia - Trogir (Splitsko-Dalmatinska Zupanija): bridge and reflection - Unesco world heritage site - photo by T.Marshall 1997 Historic City of Trogir
2000 Cathedral of St. James in Šibenik
2008 Stari Grad Plain

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country - UNESCO world heritage sites in Costa Rica
next country - UNESCO world heritage sites in Cuba
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes, Islam
images of: Croatia, Serbia, Slovenia, Montenegro, Bosnia, Italy, Europe
Unesco sites in: Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, Italy, Bosnia, Europe
Croatia - UNESCO - World Heritage