UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Egypt / Egipto / Egito / Ägypten / Misr / Egypte - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
Egypt - Giza: Pyramids of Giza - Unesco world heritage site (photo by J.Kaman) 1979 Memphis and its Necropolis - the Pyramid Fields from Giza to Dahshur 1979 Abu Mena
Egypt - Thebes: Queen Hatshepsut temple - portal (photo by J.Wreford) 1979 Ancient Thebes with its Necropolis Egypt - Belfry of St Catherine Monastery - Unesco world heritage site (photo by Juraj Kaman) 2002 Saint Catherine Area  (Byzantine monastery)
Egypt - Philae: Isis temple - island of Agilka - Unesco world heritage site (photo by Miguel Torres) 1979 Nubian Monuments from Abu Simbel to Philae Wadi Al-Hitan Whale Valley
Egypt - Cairo: Constantinople inspired Muhammad Ali / Mohammed Ali mosque - Cairo Citadel - Islamic Cairo - Unesco world heritage site (photo by Miguel Torres) 1979 Islamic Cairo

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.

The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.

One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.

States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.

Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country - UNESCO world heritage sites in Ecuador
next country - UNESCO world heritage sites in El Salvador
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes, Islam
images of: Egypt, Tunisia, Israel, Cyprus, Crete, Iraq, Jordan, Africa, Middle East, Mosques
Unesco sites in: Tunisia, Israel, Cyprus, Iraq, Jordan, Africa, Middle East
Egypt - UNESCO - World Heritage