UNESCO - The World Heritage List
Ecuador / Equador - flag UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO
World Heritage sites in

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List:
Galapagos Islands - Unesco world heritage site - Santa Cruz islabd: land iguana (conolophus subcristatus) (photo by R.Eime) 1978, 2001 Galápagos Islands
Ecuador - Quito / UIO: Spanish colonial heritage - on the convent's steps - Unesco world heritage site (photo by Rod Eime) 1978 City of Quito
1983 Sangay National Park
Santa Ana de los Rios de Cuenca (Azuay Province): the generous smile of a Panama hat maker - Unesco world heritage site (photo by G.Frysinger) 1999 Historic Centre of Santa Ana de los Ríos de Cuenca

The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage adopted in November 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.
The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States Parties and considered to be of outstanding universal value.
One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage properties to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.
States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for the preparation of tentative lists and nomination forms, expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.
Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.

source: www.unesco.org

previous country - UNESCO world heritage sites in the Dominican Republic
next country - UNESCO world heritage sites in Egypt
see also: images, UNESCO list, health, flags, airports, airlines, time zones, currencies, cities, electric plugs, dialling codes
images of: Ecuador, Venezuela, Colombia, Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Spain, Mexico, Galapagos, Americas
Unesco sites in: Venezuela, Colombia, Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Spain, Mexico, Americas
Ecuador - UNESCO - World Heritage